mmmshado

Yes I did it. I Fair Isle’d

Posted by mmmshado on August 4, 2006

Last night I became initiated to a new knitting technique (new to me that is)- the wonderful world of Fair Isle or I guess more accurately Stranded color knitting. Granted it was for a simple pattern and only about 5 repeats but there I was with my right hand twisting away. In some weird moment, I felt like I had done Fair Isle before because it came so quickly and my fingers already knew what to do despite it being clunky and awkward at first.

Is there such a thing as intuitive knitting? I think so.

I remember reading about people who taught themselves and followed the “if it looks right, it must be right” school of knitting very successfully. I felt that last night- I just knew that the way the yarn was acting would look beautiful once the colors were added. I have Grumperina’s latest post to thank. She picked up a book of Estonian knitting patterns and I really did feel like I was putting off my Fair Isle instruction. When intuition doesn’t always come natural for me, I feel anxiety. Major anxiety actually. To the point where I told myself that I really wasn’t interested at all in color knitting but I knew that was a lie- I’m a color addict! Yes those colors might be tweedy and dark but they are colors nonetheless.

This gives me new hope for the project that I’ve been working on for a while- the Monkey backpack from Stitch ‘N Bitch. Last weekend I started back on the gusset after teaching myself how to pick up stitches. In a fit of anger of some sort or impatience, I ripped out the needle and told myself if I really wanted to work on it again, I’d find a way to get the stitches back on the needle. Well, I did and I learned how to do it without even twisting the stitches. Again my intuition was working overtime there and I’ve given the project some much needed attention and might be able to finish it in the coming weeks.

Finally, this new foray into stranded knitting sparks more ideas for my trips to Woolcott this weekend for their big 28th Anniversary Celebration. I’ll be sure to post my procurements of course.

So, here’s to intuitive knitting and major sales!

2 Responses to “Yes I did it. I Fair Isle’d”

  1. I enjoyed your post about intuition and knitting. I’ve been knitting since I was a little kid and enjoy so much the mental aspects of it. To me, it teaches problem solving and that leads to intuitive actions. Do you ever post photos of your work? I’d love to see the results of your Fair Isle/Stranded knitting; I haven’t tried it yet, but your descriptionn makes it inviting.

    ~firefly

  2. mmmshado said

    firely,

    Thank you so much for your comment- it’s already made my day! I agree that the mental aspects of it are very stimulating- I want to read Zen and The Art of Knitting soon because it seems so relevant. Also, I do believe my problem solving skills are already getting better. I will write about that soon about how it’s affected me. I’ll be posting photos soon too- I’ve been a little bit scared, but will take the plunge.

    Please do try it- it’s a great technique (just be sure to not pull your yarn tight across the back, nice and easy is the way)

    Jeff

Leave a Reply

 
